The New You– Picking a Weight Loss Path

3470399603_409dbd42af_z

“Quick decisions are unsafe decisions” –Sophocles

The decision to undergo weight loss surgery can take months and trust me ­­– people will annoy the hell out of you with their “expert” advice. Regardless of everyone’s opinions, the decision is yours to make and it’s important to feel confident about your answer. When I reached my weight loss decision I knew it was right for me. Here are four points that helped me come to my conclusion.

Realize the reality

Our lives are full of habits. If you’re going to make a life style change then you need a reason to or else habits won’t form. It’s essential to confidently believe in the adjustment you want to make. For me this was knowing the cause of my obesity and its possible consequences. My conclusion was that drastic action needed to be taken.

I was 337 pounds and my sugar and cholesterol levels were high; I had polycystic ovaries; and I was at risk for heart disease. My status was no different than million Americans today. In fact, about two out of three adults are either overweight or obese. This means millions of people experience health issues like type two diabetes, high blood pressure, and heart disease. Once I realized there was an urgent need to be healthier, my decision was easier to made. Research, ask around, and be honest with yourself. When you can decipher the need to lose weight the decision is easier.

Do research about your options

There are many types of weight loss programs and surgeries. In order to decide what’ll work best for you, you need to know the difference of each method including options that are unrelated to surgery. Use three forms of research:

– Online

  • Look at medical journals, online forums, research studies, etc. Challenge the internet and find multiple sources for the info you find. This is your decision. This is your life.

–  Seminar

  • Attend hospital seminars. You’ll find some doctors will prepare talks about weight loss surgery and weight loss programs. Specifically, doctors in the bariatric community offer talks to inform patients about possible weight loss options. The doctor’s ultimate goal is to help you discover if the surgery is right for you.

– Personal experience

  • You’re not alone. Find others who’ve undergone the surgery and ask them about their experience. This’ll help you get an idea for the successes and struggles that’ve happened to others.

Find the pros and cons

Once you start researching you’ll find a mixed bag of information full of success rates, death percentages, possible complications, and doctor opinions. But, the pro and con list I speak about is not for the surgeries or the programs, but for you. First you need to think about yourself as an individual. This means looking at how the weight loss process can either help or hurt your future. Some aspects to think about are your:

– Family

– Health

– Career/professional goals

Think about your support system

Compassionate, kind, and supportive friends and family members are the best kind of support system. When you undergo an invasive surgery it’s crucial to have a pack of people willing to help you. You’ll experience various mental and physical changes that’ll require your best self and that means you need to feel confident and motivated about your decision.

Prior to my surgery, I was worried about society’s view on gastric bypass. And my anxiety fueled a lack of trust toward my family and friends. I thought: would I look weak? Is it the easy way out? What would people think about me? Should I try another program instead? For a year after making the decision to have the surgery AND undergoing the surgery I withheld the truth of my decision to my outside family and friends. When I opened myself up to others not one person reacted negatively. By not telling others about my gastric bypass, I took away my chance of a phenomenal support system.

When you’re considering weight loss surgery or other options think about who will be there for you along the way. Also, don’t simply restrict yourself to friends and family. Use the bariatric community as a crutch. Most hospitals have bariatric support meetings either weekly or monthly. Think about what will work best for you.

Photo of a road via sacks08 on flickr


Leave a comment